Monthly Archives: July 2020

Advice and support on Reopening

Town centres prepare to get back to business

Carmarthenshire’s town centres are being prepared to welcome shoppers back after months of closure due to Covid-19 restrictions.
Carmarthenshire County Council is supporting traders and businesses to get ready to re-open when lockdown rules in Wales are eased on Monday, June 22.

Guidance and support for the re-opening of parks and open spaces

As many town and community councils are looking ahead and working towards the re-opening of facilities we are sharing our social distancing toolkit which may be of use to those looking at the re-opening parks, open spaces or public conveniences.

We’ve produced additional guidance below on specific topics to help you apply this 5 step approach to re-opening, as well as an FAQs section to answer any concerns you may have. We will continue to update this information, please let us know if there is anything you’d like us to add to our website.
If you require any further support or guidance on signage please email us on

Five Steps on reopening safely

County council owned public toilets to re-open

Public toilets owned by Carmarthenshire County Council will re-open from Monday, June 22.

The facilities in towns and communities across the county have been closed since March due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

The facilities re-opening include:

John Street car park, Carmarthen
St. Peter’s car park, Carmarthen
Llandeilo car park
St Clears car park
Laugharne (Wogan St)
Adjacent to Town Hall, Llanelli
East Gate Bus Station, Llanelli
Carregamman car park, Ammanford
Llansteffan Beach car park
Cliff Walk Pendine, (Springwell)
Ferryside (beach entrance)
Burry Port and Llandovery car parks are already open

The authority will work closely with town and community councils to offer advice and support on how to safely re-open their facilities.

Weekly slots now available at recycling centres

Residents can now make an appointment once every seven days to one of the county’s household waste recycling centres.
The change comes following a successful re-opening of the Nanycaws, Trostre, Wernddu and Whitland centres.

Additional appointments have also opened across all four sites and Wernddu is now open seven days a week.

Visits to the recycling centres continue to be by appointment only for essential use to dispose of any household waste.

Find out more about recycling centres

Temporary Road Closure


Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984
As amended by the Road Traffic (Temporary Restrictions Act) 1991

Temporary Prohibition of Through Traffic

Carmarthenshire County Council hereby gives notice that from 8th July 2020 no person shall cause any vehicle to proceed along that length of road known as C2172, Llansadwrn, Llanwrda from a point 1.7 kilometres North-West of its junction with the U4231 for a distance of 150 metres in a North-Westerly direction.

The closure is required to ensure public safety whilst Openreach carry out essential repair work.

The alternative route for North-Westbound traffic will be to proceed in a South-Easterly direction along the C2172 to its junction with the U4065 passing property known as Troedrhiwebyst. At the junction, turn left and continue in a North-Westerly direction along the U4065 to its junction with the C2174 passing properties known as Abertegan and Yr Hen Ysgubor. At the junction, turn left and continue in a Westerly direction along the C2174 to its junction with the B4302.

At the junction, turn left and continue in a South-Westerly direction along the B4302 to its junction with the U4078 passing property known as Gwynfa. At the junction, turn left and continue in a South-Easterly direction along the U4078 to its junction with the C2172. At the junction, turn right and continue in a South-Easterly direction along the C2172 passing properties know as Pen-Yr-Heol-Wen and Aberdauddwr to return to a point North-West of the closure. Vice versa for South-Eastbound traffic.

This Notice shall continue to be in force for a period not exceeding twenty-one days after which time its provision may be extended by a Temporary Order under Section 14(1) of the same Act.


Mrs Ruth Mullen B.S.c.
Director of Environment
County Hall
SA31 1JP